It's a Rich history
It all began in 1866
The Wawayanda Inn was built in 1866 by NW Talmadge. In 1917, John Mason purchased the building and started Mason’s Store with his wife Margaret. Workers lived in the inn, renting blocks of rooms for themselves and their visitors. In 1941, Mike & Ernestine Mason took over the store. People from all around used to make the trip to Mason’s Store to get the Suburban edition of the Sunday Daily News. There would be hundreds of people buying their papers on Sundays along with penny candies from the big oak candy case. After 87 years of business, the store closed in October of 2004.
Then, it was reimagined in 2015
In 2014, the Wright family purchased the building and spent 2 years thoughtfully restoring all three floors. On June 5th 2015, they opened Mason’s Marketplace.
As a local family owned and operated business, their mission is to build a gathering place for the community where everyone feels at home. Mason's Marketplace is open every day and made up of The Market and The Taproom & Kitchen. The Market offers sandwiches to-go, a beer cave, and a sells a variety of local products. The Taproom & Kitchen offers 8 beer taps which rotate frequently from local breweries and serves breakfast, lunch, dinner, and Sunday brunch. The various spaces are also available for hosting special events such as rehearsal dinners, birthday parties, baby showers, wedding showers, or retirement parties.